DO YOU NEED MAKEUP TO FEEL CONFIDENT?

IMG_2504

I always read a post on social media about women loving and hating make up, it almost came up as a battle between the two and I always feel the same way about it, I don’t care if you love or hate makeup perhaps because of your own experience but does it really have to be a big deal for everyone? To the point that posts like “Why having no makeup is better” or “10 Things Women Who Does Not Wear Makeup Will Understand”. I feel bad about such topic but it is another story I want to share with you in the near future.

What I want to talk about is if Women really need makeup to feel confident. I love makeup so much, I’d rather not eat just to buy that foundation or tube of lipstick. I even get addicted hoarding sale items that I don’t really like just because it is, you guessed it right, makeup! As time goes by, I realized one thing and that is too much of something is bad for you. I learned it the hard way when I started breaking out because I went gaga with my collection and tried to put everything on my face. Lol. That time, I tried to challenge myself to not wear any makeup for at least a week just to calm my face. I feel so scared, horrible and conscious about how I look. I always think if people will notice all the pimples I have on my cheeks, my puffy dark eye bags and my naked brows. I’ve been putting makeup on my face since 2014 and interacting with others with such bare face makes me feel uncomfortable. One week became two until it turns into a month because my breakout won’t go away. I feel so bad and I always think about what other people will think of me. 

 

Little by little, I started to feel okay without using any makeup but sometimes I miss it. When I look to the mirror, I know something is missing but the scary feeling is no longer there. I embrace the change I am doing and it feels good actually to leave my face alone. I can scratch my eyes without worrying of smudged mascara or eyeliner. I can eat anything without awkwardly avoiding my lipstick to be ruined and I don’t even have to use a mirror anymore to check if my makeup is still on.

Every woman has her own share of reason why she love makeup or not. Whatever it is, there is something I want to tell you, I love makeup because of the power it gives to me. From the brand that I am using especially when I use a luxury brand, I feel like I am one of the highest people out there, when I put my favorite lipstick it feels like I can conquer everything. I put on my fave mascara and it feels like all eyes are on me. It turns a blah day to a fab one. It hides the imperfections I have such as pimples, dark circles and uneven skin tone. With a few dabs, pat and swipe on my face, it make me look perfect in my own way. You see, that is the magic that makeup does. But most of all, it is not about what you put on your face it is actually that extra time you give to yourself in the morning to feel great about yourself.

So yeah, although makeup is everything for me, I can live without it but still feel confident about myself. Imperfection will always be with us, it is up to us on how we accept it and carry ourselves. Have a great day! 🙂

2 thoughts on “DO YOU NEED MAKEUP TO FEEL CONFIDENT?

  1. ladyarizelblog says:

    I actually enjoy reading those posts and still do not affect my love for makeup. Makeup is awesome. Because of makeup, I learned that beauty is for everyone, not only for those who are blessed with beauty. It is art. Later, I learned how to be more responsible about my skin. Then I learned to love both my made up face and no makeup look. Makeup is great 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment