ALL ABOUT THE BASE

IMG_0700.png

I was thinking of a cool title for this post when All about that bass by Meghan Trainor started to play. I thought this is a nice and witty title for this and while editing instead of typing the  I typed that thank goodness no one noticed yet and luckily I haven’t typed bass or else everything will gone wrong. Continue reading to know what this is all about.

Perhaps the coolest contribution of Korea to the world of beauty is their take to base cosmetics. Before, we only have foundations in forms of stick, powder, liquid and cream. Today, most of us prefer bb creams or cc creams and the new “it” of all beauty bloggers and make up artists that even the Western brands released their own version, the bb or cc cushions. I have few of the three kinds from drugstore and mid-range from the Western and Asian brands. I gathered five that I have been using a lot lately. This post is a request from my fellow blogger and a good friend, Arielle . (If you also have a request or suggestion of what you want me to post, feel free to leave a comment below or on Facebook.)

IMG_0698

In no particular order I have Pond’s Age Miracle BB Cream, Beausella CC Cream, Olay CC Cream, Etude House Precious Mineral Any Cushion and The Face Shop Oil Control Water Cushion.

IMG_0705

I was expecting about two BB Creams that I can show to you for this post but surprise, surprise! I only got the Pond’s Age Miracle BB+ Anti-ageing Expert BB Cream in Light. I bought this on sale last February and never stop using this everyday mostly in the morning when I just want a nice, glowing skin without the heavy and sticky feeling. I used the Flawless White also but I like this one more because of the anti-aging properties it claims to reduce wrinkles, fine lines and age spots in the epirdemis layer. Coverage wise, it has a light coverage good enough to cover some blemishes and even out my skin tone. Also, it leaves my skin hydrated and it last for 4-6 hours. Best thing about this? Not sticky at all even if it is scorching hot right now!

IMG_0704

This is a gift from a friend in Korea, it is one of their products from JUNO Cosmetics and guys, this is so cool I will do a review about this! The product looks white with tiny granules or capsules and it magically turns to your shade once blended, it adapts the color of the skin how cool is that? Unlike other CC Creams that just corrects the tone of the skin, this gives more coverage compared to other cc creams that I have tried and instantly whiten and brighten my complexion. Some may wonder what is the difference about whitening and brightening, whitening is making your skin tone a shade lighter while brightening gives the skin a healthy glow or a sparkle but doesn’t improve the overall skin tone or color. Beausella Glam Shiny Skin CC Cream whitens and brightens my skin in an instant. It helps me achieve the korean skin that I want and probably also for some of you. It has SPF 40 PA++ but doesn’t leave any white cast on face. It contains a lot of product and you only need a little for the whole face and I don’t have to do any retouch with this as it can last the whole day.

IMG_0703

This Olay Total Effects Pore Minimizing CC Cream is what I use when I am too lazy to put anything on my face but I need to cheat a little bit to look like I use some skincare products. It has the most pleasant smell of all the base cosmetics I have, it smells like the Olay Total Effects Moisturizer with a hint of soap smell. It smells so fresh and delicate sometimes I just want to open this and sniff the product. Aside from its scent, another reason why I love this CC Cream is because this acts more of a skincare rather than a cosmetic. It reduces the appearance of the pores, make my skin smoother and moisturized and gives a healthy radiant glow. The effect is similar to the Olay Total Effects 7 in 1 Day Cream the only difference is that this leaves me with an even skin tone and less oily on face but other than that, the effect it gives to the skin is almost the same.

IMG_0702

Aahh, my first bb cushion ever. The reason why I fell in love with bb cushions and now I want to try all of them. The Face Shop Oil Control Water Cushion in Natural Beige is not your ordinary bb cushion. It is water proof and sweat proof, controls oil, has a medium-heavy coverage, last up to 8 hours or more and this has a demi-matte finish compared to other bb cushions from Korea that gives a shiny effect. I bring this with me when I travel, it is more compact than a BB or CC Cream on a tube and it feels lighter on skin but the coverage is still there.

IMG_0701

If I want a more brightening effect from a cushion, I use Etude House Precious Mineral Any Cushion in Natural Beige instead. This is my secret weapon for a K-pop star look. I love the effect of this on my skin, it makes my skin look youthful in an instant and the coverage is really good without feeling too heavy on the skin, it brightens the skin without looking too pale nor too white and the effect looks natural. I use this when I have to go to a party, an event or when my skin looks very dull.

This is a long post but I hope you enjoyed reading. 🙂 What is your favorite bb, cc or cushion? Share it with me below.

IMG_0699

Leave a comment